Quick Answer: What Do I Do With My Old IPhone When I Get A New One?

How do I remove everything from my old iPhone?

How to erase all data from your iPhone or iPadLaunch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.Now tap on General.Scroll to the bottom and tap Reset.

Choose Erase All Content and Settings.Tap on Erase Now.Enter your Passcode.More items…•.

What do you do with your old iPhone when you upgrade it?

You finally upgraded! Now what are you supposed to do what that 4-year old iPhone?Sell or donate it.Make it a dedicated music player.Turn it into a kid’s entertainment device.Make it an Apple TV remote.Make it a permanent car, bike, or kitchen fixture.Use it as a baby monitor.Turn it into your bedside buddy.

Will erasing my old iPhone affect my new one?

Erasing the old device will not affect the new one. That is necessary for you to be able to wipe the device.

How do I reset my iPhone for a new user?

The most straightforward route to resetting your phone is to enter the device’s Settings menu, and then tap “General,” “Reset” and “Erase All Content and Settings.” You may be asked to enter the device’s pass code or the Apple ID password of the original owner, so it’s best to go through this process with said owner.

Do you have to turn in your old phone when you upgrade?

You basically have two options when it comes to your old phone: you keep it or you ditch it. That’s the basis of it, anyway. If you decide to keep your device, then you at least have a back-up plan in the case that something happens to your new phone.

How do I separate devices with the same Apple ID?

Each of you must purchase your own apps under your own Apple ID. When you decide to split up like this one of you will need to re-purchase the apps that they want to use. Start by transferring the new device(s) to a new account along with all your data.

Remove your associated iPhone, iPad, or iPod touchTap Settings > [your name], then tap iTunes & App Store.Tap your Apple ID.Tap View Apple ID. You might be asked to sign in.Scroll to the iTunes in the Cloud section, then tap Remove This Device.

Can I still use my old phone after upgrade?

You can certainly keep your old phones and put them to use. When I upgrade my phones, I’ll probably replace my crumbling iPhone 4S as my nightly reader with my comparably new Samsung S4. You can also keep and re-carrier your old phones.

Question: Q: how to unlink 2 iPhonesOn one of the phones go to Settings>Messages>Send & Receive, tap the ID, sign out, then sign back in with a different ID. … On both phones go to Settings>Messages>Send & Receive and uncheck the email address(es) shown under “You can be reached by iMessage at”.

Can I use 2 iPhones with the same Apple ID?

You can use a single AppleID on many devices, including 2 iphones. Note though that if you use the same AppleID for iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime then you are using a single account for those services. All devices using that AppleID share all messages, conversations, iCloud emails, contacts, calendars, phone logs etc.

How do I clear my old iPhone before I sell it?

Share All sharing options for: How to wipe your iPhone before selling or trading it inOpen up Settings.Scroll down and tap “General”Scroll down and select “Reset”Tap “Erase All Content and Settings”