Question: Who Does The Fair Housing Act Protect?

What regulation is Fair Housing Act?

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act), as amended, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings, and in other housing-related transactions, based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with ….

What is not protected under the federal Fair Housing Act?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws. 4.

What does the Equality Act protect against?

Specifically, it prohibits discrimination based on sex, sexual orientation, and gender identity in a wide variety of areas including public accommodations and facilities, education, federal funding, employment, housing, and credit.

What is considered discrimination in housing?

Housing discrimination takes place when an individual or a group is treated adversely based on a legally protected characteristic such as their race, sex, religion, familial status, or disability. Housing discrimination is illegal and contributes to the inequity in the quality of housing a person can obtain.

How do I file a complaint with the Fair Housing Act?

Call the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) at 800-669-9777 or visit the HUD website to file a complaint or get answers to your fair housing questions.

What does the Fair Housing law prohibit?

The Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to harass persons because of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin. Among other things, this forbids sexual harassment.

How does the Housing for Older Person’s Act Hopa of 1995 affect fair housing discrimination laws?

787, enacted December 28, 1995) amends Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (Fair Housing Act). … HOPA amends the Fair Housing Act as follows: eliminates the requirement that qualified housing for persons age 55 or older have “significant facilities and services” designed for the elderly.

What is not a protected class?

Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability. The law is not, however, a blanket bar on employers taking into account a person’s membership in one of these groups in all circumstances.

Who must comply with fair housing law?

The Fair Housing Act makes it unlawful to discriminate against a person whose household includes one or more children who are under 18 years of age (familial status).

What’s the primary purpose of the federal Fair Housing Act?

Currently the Fair Housing Act protects against discrimination of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability. The law applies to all types of housing, rental homes, apartments, condos and houses.

How does the Fair Housing Act work?

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of housing based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability. The act has two main purposes—prevent discrimination and reverse housing segregation.

What is positive discrimination?

Positive discrimination is the process of increasing the number of employees from minority groups in a company or business, which are known to have been discriminated against in the past.

Which is one of the three broad purposes of the Fair Housing Act?

To end segregation of the housing available to people who have disabilities; To give people with disabilities greater opportunity to choose where they want to live; To assure that reasonable accommodations be made to the individual needs of people with disabilities in securing and using housing.

Who is protected under the Fair Housing Act?

Protected classes are created by both federal and state law. The original FHA had only five protected classes—race, color, religion, sex, and national origin. An amendment in 1988, however, added handicap and familial status to the protected classes.

Does the Fair Housing Act protect alcoholics?

Yes, both the Fair Housing Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act include alcoholism within the definition of handicap (disability). … The Fair Housing Act also protects persons who have a record of such impairment, or are regarded as having such impairment.

What are protected traits?

The Equality Act covers the same groups that were protected by existing equality legislation – age, disability, gender reassignment, race, religion or belief, sex, sexual orientation, marriage and civil partnership and pregnancy and maternity. These are now called `protected characteristics´.

What happens when you file a fair housing complaint?

In most cases, HUD will send the complaint to DFEH for investigation. If a complaint is filed with DFEH and alleges facts that would violate the federal Fair Housing Act, the complaint is automatically filed with HUD, although DFEH will investigate.

How does Equality Act protect individuals?

The Act also protects you if people in your life, like family members or friends, have a protected characteristic and you’re treated unfairly because of that. This is called discrimination by association. For example, if you’re discriminated against because your son is gay.